What Are the Different Grades of Granite?

What Are The Different Grades Of Granite?

A lot of B2C players or customers aren’t aware of the grades of granite. But B2B has certain knowledge of the different types and grades of granite. That’s why they know how to strike a fair deal when they need a particular granite grade.

Each granite grade differs in quality, price, look, or appeal. And with this blog, granite enthusiasts would get to know these grades of granite up close. 

What are the worldwide accepted granite grades?

Primarily, there are three granite grades accepted in the construction industry worldwide. The granite slab grades often differ in tiles used, veins, colors, patterns, pitting, markings, and the stone material. 

While comparing grade one to grade three granite slabs, stark differences are visible in these features. 

The most credit would be going to the stone used in the granite slab in different grades. It can vary from hard to soft to have different resistance levels to the natural wear and tear or other depreciating factors. 

Different Grades of Granite:

Level one – entry-level

Constructors often term this grade “commercial” or “builder” grade. This grade quality is the lowest amongst the three levels discussed in this blog post. This quality is pre-fabricated and is suited for:

  • Small and homely apartments. 
  • Pre-fab models,
  • Furniture.

This granite grade has a thinner cut ranging from 3 to 8 inches. Usually, this granite grade slab has plywood strengthening it up. The designs available in this grade of granite are simple, limited, homely, warm, and not intricate. 

Industrialists or B2B players often import this granite grade from China to save import costs. The supply of this grade is usually in granite liquidators and big boxes. They are often cut into piles before shipping out further to the end buyers. 

The stone of this entry-level grade of granite has a lot of soft materials. Therefore, it is more susceptible to wear and tear than the other two levels. 

So, customers should consider this granite grade where there is low traffic in the room. It cannot handle a constant footfall or high traffic in the room. 

Level two – standard stone quality/mid-grade 

The thickness of this granite grade can range from 3 to 4 inches. You will get more dark and fancy colors, patterns, or textures in these stone slabs. These are a bit more unique than the first ones. 

Often, B2B players import their level two granite grade from Brazil, India, or nearby countries. Plus, this granite grade is tougher and more durable than the first level. There are various markings available for the surface of this Brazilian or Indian granite grade. 

Level three – premium or exotic quality

There is a stark difference between level three and the other two. From the stone used to the markings, texture, customization options, this granite grade quality is the richest. 

For instance, white galaxy granite looks best for setting up modern and modular kitchens of your chic, epic, and elegant apartments. The colors available with the third level of granite grade are unique, one of their kind, rich in variations and tones. 

The appearance of these granite grades is eye-pleasing, attractive, and draws immediate attention. Manufacturers try to create the best look and feel with the premium choice of granite grades by using rare stones. 

These granite grades are often sold more from India, Brazil, and the USA. The thickness of this granite grade is also about 3 to 4 inches. 

Note On Granite Grade Types:

There are more granite grade levels available to companies in the world. They go up to 6 to 7 levels. 

These might be exclusively available to a particular region or country because of their mining areas. These indigenous levels or granite grades often differ in color, stone, usage, availability, and cost. 

How is granite graded in general?


Miners extract granite from mines first and cut them into slabs or tiles to ship it to manufacturers. They cut them into pieces – super thin and thicker ones for durability. So, the ideal thickness in the graded granite starts from 3 inches.


Look for dents, scratches, dings, and stains. There should be none in the graded granite. The color, texture, and markings should be unique: appealing to the buyer’s eyes. There should be a guarantee that these granites stand strong against nicks and marks. 


High porosity in graded granite means it is likely to stain. That’s because there won’t be any sealant cover to protect it against liquid attacks. 

Check Also

Hello Kitty Wallpaper

Exploring the Enduring Charm of wallpaper:8gou3l7op8q= hello kitty

wallpaper:8gou3l7op8q= hello kitty Hello Kitty, a beloved character created by the Japanese company Sanrio, has …